Are you suffering from diabetes? Do you want to be cured? If so, this article is for you

Diabetes is a modern illness. People of all ages are having diabetes. Diabetes is associated with this hectic modern life, junk food and the lack of exercise.

People who live in hot countries such as Mauritius, the percentage of diabetes keep on increasing. Junk food such as fast food and processed food are most loved by children, adolescents and adults. Many children refuse to have a  proper meal and choose their favourite food every day. Added to this, many working parents do not have enough time to cook proper food for their children; so the number of obese keep on increasing.

When the pancreas does not work properly, then the problem of diabetes start. Many people are not aware of it, though they have few symptoms. Diabetes is dangerous.You need to get it out completely of your life.

Having diabetes is a signal to come back to a peaceful life with a balanced diet.

Stop all the processed food, the ‘unreal food’, fast food and junk food and all fizzy drinks.

Exercise to keep fit

 

Image result for muslim woman  exercising

Read some useful comments on the subject:

“You can control diabetes very well with your diet.I helped my mother change her diet from lots of carbohydrates to very little carbohydrates and more protein and vegetables.”

“Aspartame and all the rest of the artificial sweetners are toxic in the body and cause huge problems with sugar regulation”.

“Stop eating all refined sugars. “

“Even just walking 30 minutes a day can have a huge impact on preventing diabetes. The key is to make it a daily activity.”

“If you eat meat, eat only fresh unprocessed meat, never eat processed packaged meat because it contains sodium nitrite, a chemical that destroys pancreas function. This means no pepperoni pizza, no  potato soup, no deli meat sandwiches and so on.”

To the extent that you can do these five things, you can reverse diabetes yourself! Diabetes is not a difficult disease to prevent or reverse because it’s not really an affliction that “strikes” you randomly. It is merely the biological effect of following certain lifestyle (bad foods, no exercise) that can be reversed in virtually anyone, sometimes in just a few days.

“Blood Sugar escalation is only the symptom of Diabetes; disease belongs to Pancreas (to be more precise Beta-cells).”

“Eat every five hours and never eat in between and keep only three meals. Stop all rice, bread and pasta. Replace them by Ryvita”

Always keep in mind the age old proverb “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”

 

Individuals can experience different signs and symptoms of diabetes, and sometimes there may be no signs. Some of the signs commonly experienced include:

  • Frequent urination
  • Excessive thirst
  • Increased hunger
  • Weight loss
  • Tiredness
  • Lack of interest and concentration
  • A tingling sensation or numbness in the hands or feet
  • Blurred vision
  • Frequent infections
  • Slow-healing wounds
  • Vomiting and stomach pain (often mistaken as the flu)

The development of type 1 diabetes is usually sudden and dramatic while the symptoms can often be mild or absent in people with type 2 diabetes, making this type of diabetes hard to detect.

If you show these signs and symptoms, consult a health professional.

 

You can take good care of yourself and your diabetes by learning

  • what to eat
  • how much to eat
  • when to eat

You can help prevent health problems by keeping your blood glucose levels on target

Image result for illustrating diabetes

 

Image result for illustrating diabetes

 

If you want some motivation, please read the article below:

‘I used to live on Indian takeaways and fish and chips and, every night, I’d have at least a glass of wine and a gin and tonic. I love good cognac. I did no exercise either.’

In early 2004, when popping into her chemist, Janet mentioned to her pharmacist how she was feeling.

‘I said my legs were hurting and I was feeling run down,’ recalls Janet. ‘The lady asked if I’d mind if she did a pin prick blood test on me, and reached for a box that contained a kit for diabetics to measure blood glucose levels, which was worrying.

‘She looked at the results and sent me straight to the GP, who did further tests and talked through how I was feeling.

‘I was diagnosed with diabetes. My mother and grandmother had it, so I wasn’t shocked, but I think the only reason it hadn’t entered my mind was because I was working so hard and had put my head in the sand.

‘I was told to lose weight, start eating healthily, exercise and look after myself more. I went away full of good intentions, but they fell by the wayside as work took over my life again.’

Working it out: Janet symptoms lessened when she exercised (posed by model)

Apart from taking the medication she was prescribed (which worked by helping the body to produce insulin and to limit the production of glucose from the liver), she carried on as she had since losing her husband.

‘The only thing I did to “manage” my condition was carry chocolate with me, or sugar. I would eat a bit whenever my blood sugar levels plummeted and I started to feel faint, which happened throughout the day.

I was controlling my diabetes with sugar – the worst thing you can do. Chocolate is meant to be for emergencies only, not for lunch.’

‘Not surprisingly, things weren’t improving. I still felt very irritable and had pains in my legs.’

But a year after her diagnosis, by which point Janet was struggling to walk up stairs without becoming breathless, she knew she had no choice but to change.

‘I remember one day when I apologised for snapping at one of my beauty therapists,’ says Janet. ‘I said I wasn’t feeling well, but she said that I was irritable all the time. It was a wake-up call.

‘I could no longer ignore the fact that I wasn’t enjoying my life, my business was suffering and I couldn’t go on the way I was.

‘The first change I made was to go to the gym and start walking three times a week. Within two months, I felt better and more energetic.’

She started working out with a personal trainer and began to eat more healthily.

‘It took all my willpower to stick with it – there were always parties and events with wine available. But I wanted to lead a happy life again, so refused to give up.

‘I cut down on alcohol and began cooking at home. I stopped using chocolate to control blood sugar and forced myself to take time out from work to eat.

‘It was a slow process, but I could tell through my fortnightly checkups at the GP that my condition was improving as my blood sugar levels were normalising.

‘Six months after I began exercising, the doctor said I could reduce my medication.’

She adds: ‘Until then, I’d still enjoyed things like puddings. Now my medication was being reduced, I had to watch what I ate, and stuck to low glycemic index foods such as brown rice and veg, which help stabilise blood sugars. I was getting compliments wherever I went, which boosted me further.’

Two years ago, Janet was able to stop taking her medication completely. She still sees her GP for check-ups every three months. But she no longer experiences any diabetes symptoms, although officially she is still a diabetic.

‘Janet’s determination to lose weight and effectively control her diabetes is inspirational,’ says Zoe Harrison of Diabetes UK.

‘Some cases of Type 2 diabetes can be managed by eating a healthy balanced diet and doing regular physical activity, and occasionally people taking tablets for the condition no longer need them.

‘But there’s no guarantee you’ll not have to take tablets or insulin in the future.’

For Janet, however, the outcome has been better than she could have hoped. Now a size 14-16, in August she climbed Ben Nevis.

Next year, she plans to climb Mt Kilimanjaro.

‘What’s surprised me most is that getting this far hasn’t involved being fanatic about things,’ she says.

‘I exercise three times a week for 30-35 minutes, usually powerwalking on the cross trainer or doing weights at home, and the food I eat is still enjoyable.

‘Now, for instance, for breakfast I have Ryvita with cottage cheese, mid-morning some ham on Ryvita, and a salad or vegetable soup for lunch. In the afternoon, I have a cup of herbal tea, and then for dinner, I cook myself a meal such as lamb chops and vegetables.

When I go out, I treat myself and have a three course meal, but I’ve learned that if I do that, I have to burn the sugar to prevent it sitting in my bloodstream. So I’ll get on my cross trainer a few hours later.

‘My life has changed hugely. I’m happier and healthier. Best of all, I no longer feel ashamed of myself when I’m running my salon. I feel that I can advise people on their looks and hold my head up high.’

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. sana said,

    January 31, 2016 at 7:06 am

    I appreciate very much all these informations. Thank you a lot.

    Like

  2. Hanna said,

    January 31, 2016 at 7:07 am

    Very helpful. Keep it up.

    Like


Leave a Reply

